An Unexpected Parcel

It has been another couple of  action packed weeks at Calendula HQ.  The final training sessions have been delivered and seeds have been germinating.

Last week I delivered my final training session/talk to a classroom of Year 5 students. I’m not ashamed to say that it was one of the most nerve-wracking things I have ever done.  I usually have no problems public speaking but for some reason a large group of 9 year olds turned me into a quivering wreck!  I hope I haven’t lost my mojo as my talk about the project  in the Plant Heritage  Tent at RHS Hampton Court Flower Show will be here before I know it.

The Bristol Garden Life Show took place last Friday & Saturday (11th & 12th ) in the main shopping area in the centre of the city. Not only was I talking to members of the public about the project but I also met lots of horticultural community groups.  There are lots of great projects in Bristol and it was great to talk to them and get so much positive feedback about the Bristol Community Plant Collection.

So, in the title I mentioned an unexpected package which arrived in my in-tray. The parcel was from the United States Department of Agriculture and contained 12 packets ( yes, you read right, 12!!)  of Calendula species seed.  Some were the same species but collected from different countries.  This takes our species total up to 9!! If I could moonwalk I would do, instead I will have to do my rather erratic ‘running man’ instead.

You can see more photos of the project at the Bristol Community Plant Collection Facebook page including a fetching picture of Mark West, one of our gardeners, with the germinated Calendula tripterocarpa from the botanic garden at Bayreuth University – Germany. Don’t forget to ‘like’ us!

Leave a Reply

